Residency Log: Entry #2

I am nearing the end of my second month of my residency, and it has been quite the journey! One thing in particular was the recommended reading of Dangerous Calling—a book written by Paul Tripp. If you are familiar with my blog, you know that I write book reviews for Christian publishers in exchange for a free copy of the book (trying to save money on school books!). This one, however, was not among my stack to review, nor was it academically robust like my textbooks. For the first time in over a year, I read a book that wasn’t to review for a publisher or required for a class; a breath of fresh air and a nice change of pace.

What was so incredible about this book was the call to awareness the author endows upon the reader. Tripp’s approach to what it takes to be a pastor goes beyond the classroom and the study. In summary, it brings the reader to a place of being in awe of who God is, understanding the grace he gives, and how this is the fuel we need in order to lavish it upon others freely.

These two points were nostalgic and convicting, which I am committed to holding in higher regard from hear on out. Case in point, this book cuts straight to the heart of worship: Cruciformity—to take the shape of the cross. This point is detrimental for any individual regardless of vocation. I’ve always known this, but for whatever reason, reading this book was the wake-up call my heart has desperately needed.

In other (unrelated) news, here are some updates I have for you!

First, before the summer ends I will have this WordPress Blog replaced with an actual domain. I don’t have the url, but I’m assuming it will be something simple like findingrestinthehaven.com or kevinmckissick.com. Either way, it will be easier to manage than what I have now. Plus, it’s use is not limited to the features and flexibility of a free wordpress blog, which could be beneficial sometime in the near future.

Secondly, I’m starting a newsletter specifically for updates regarding my residency. I know some people do not want to subscribe to the blog when they aren’t interested in my posts outside of the residency. I will still continue the Residency Log entries on here, but they’ll be less focused on updating and instead be exclusive to unique subject matter. The newsletter will only go out to those who sign up, so I can write in a more stripped down fashion seeing that subscribers are doing so voluntarily. I am hoping to send one out either monthly or bi-monthly depending on the response it gets. So, if that sounds like you, click here to subscribe to the newsletter.

Lastly, I am have been experiencing some life hurdles recently. If you are the praying type, I would greatly appreciate it if you included me in your next time of prayer. I won’t go into details, but any prayer would be beneficial.

Thank you all so much!

Leave a Reply

